Planetarische Aspektbilder

Dies ist eine Übersetzung (von Klaus Scharff) der englischen Version dieser Seite.


Die Bilder von Aspekten auf dieser Seite sind alle unter Verwendung
der Planetarische Aspekte und Transite Software gemacht worden.


Planetarische Aspekte

Konjunktion, Opposition, Quadrat, Trigon,
Sextil, Semisextil und Quinkunx

Zwei Planeten bilden einen Aspekt, wenn die Gradzahl ihres Abstands (die absolute Differenz ihrer Längengrade) hinreichend nahe zu einem der folgenden Werten ist: 0° (Konjunktion), 180° (Opposition), 90° (Quadrat), 120° (Trigon), 60° (Sextil) 30° (Semisextil) oder 150° (Quinkunx). Astrologen kennen andere Aspekte, mit denen wir uns hier nicht befassen.

Eine gewisse Ungenauigkeit ist erlaubt, die man den Orbis nennt. Wenn man einen Orbis von 10° verwendet, dann stehen zwei Planeten in Konjunktion, wenn sie weniger als 10° voneinander entfernt sind. Sie stehen in Opposition, wenn ihre Trennung um weniger als 10° von 180° abweicht und sie befinden sich in einem Quadrat, wenn ihr Abstand um weniger als 10° von 90° abweicht. Für Trigone gilt eine Trennung, die nur weniger 10° von 120° entfernt ist, und so weiter. Wenn z.B. der Längengrad eines Planeten 35° ist, dann befindet sich ein zweiter Planet im Quadrat, wenn sich sein Längengrad im Intervall von 115° bis 135° befindet.

Die Genauigkeit eines Aspekts wird durch die Differenz zwischem dem tatsächlichen Winkel, der die Planeten trennt, und dem idealen Winkel der Trennung für diesen Aspekt ausgedrückt. Zum Beispiel, wenn Merkur eine Länge von 55° hat und Mars eine Länge von 57°, dann ist die Genauigkeit dieser Konjunktion 2°. Wenn Venus die Länge 80° und Jupiter die Länge 195° hat, dann berechnet sich die Genauigkeit als 120° — (195° - 80°) = 5°.

Das Beispiel einer Bildschirmdarstellung, die in der Einführung zu sehen ist, zeigt alle planetarischen Aspekte für den 9.Juni 2010 (bei Verwendung der voreingestellten Werte für die Orbits) zusammen mit den Angaben wie nahe sie zu den exakten Werte stehen.

Wenn drei oder mehr Planeten sich so formieren, dass jedes Paar einen Aspekt bildet, dann nennen wir das ein Aspektbild. Die Hauptbilder sind weiter unten beschrieben.


Stelliums

4-stellium 2000-05-05 Ein 3-Stellium findet statt, wenn drei Planeten paarweise zueinander in Konjunktion stehen. Ein n-Stellium ereignet sich, wenn n Planeten paarweise zueinander in Konjunktion stehen. 3-Stellium sind nicht ungewöhnlich (da Merkur in der Nähe der Sonne bleibt), aber 4-Stelliums sind es nicht. Hier ist ein Beispiel für ein 4-Stellium, Sonne-Merkur-Jupiter-Saturn.

5-stellium 1962-02-05 5-Stelliums sind selten. Sie ereignen sich vielleicht einmal in mehreren Dekaden. Auf der rechten Seite wird ein 5-Stellium (Sonne-Merkur-Venus-Jupiter-Mond) gezeigt, das am 5.Februar 1962 stattgefunden hat. Dieses 5-Stellium ist ungewöhnlich eng; der Durchschnittswert für den paarweisen Abstand der fünf Planeten erreicht ein Minimum von genau 1°21'. 5-Stelliums finden sich ebenfalls am 9.Mai 2000 und am 8.September 2040. In diesen beiden Fällen liegt die minimale Trennung zwischen 4° and 5°.

6-stellium 1997-02-06 6-Stelliums sind sehr selten. Auf der rechten Seite ist ein 6-Stellium (Merkur-Venus-Jupiter-Uranus-Neptun-Mond) angezeigt, das am 6.Februar 1997 stattgefunden hat. Um 17:30 Uhr GMT waren alle sechs Himmelskörper nur 8°58' oder weniger voneinander entfernt. Es gibt auch vier Trapeze.

7-stellium 1994-01-11 7-Stelliums sind außergewöhnlich selten. Auf der rechten Seite ist ein 7-Stellium (Sonne-Merkur-Venus-Mars-Uranus-Neptun-Mond) angezeigt, das am 11.Januar 1994 stattgefunden hat. Um 16:00 Uhr GMT waren alle sieben Himmelskörper nur 8°50' oder weniger voneinander entfernt.


Das großes Trigon

Ein großes Trigon (engl.: grand trine) ereignet sich, wenn drei Planeten so zueinander stehen, dass jedes Paar von Planeten einen Trigonaspekt formiert. Dies gilt als vielversprechend.

Hier ist ein Beispiel für zwei große Trigone (Venus-Saturn-Pluto und Mars-Jupiter-Uranus), das sich am 22.September 1904 ereignet.


Das großes Sextil

Ein großes Sextil findet statt, wenn sich sechs Planeten so gruppieren, dass jeder Planet mit genau zwei anderen Planeten ein Sextil bildet und wenn die sechs Planeten auch zwei große Trigone formen, so dass jeder Planet in einem großen Trigon in Opposition zu einem Planeten des anderen großen Trigons steht.

Große Sextile sind sehr selten. Hier wird eine großes Sextil angezeigt, dass von Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Pluto, Neptun und Mond gebildet wird. Es ereignet sich am 29.Juli 2013. Ein zweites wird weiter unten gezeigt.


Der Drachen

Ein Drachen (engl.: kite) ereignet sich, wenn drei Planeten ein großes Trigon bilden und ein vierter Planet in Opposition zu einem dieser drei steht und mit den anderen beiden Planeten ein Sextil bildet.

Hier ist ein Beispiel für einen Drachen, der aus einem Großen Trigon besteht, das durch Mars, Jupiter und Uranus gebildet wird. Dabei steht die Sonne in Opposition zum Jupiter und bildet mit Mars und Uranus ein Sextil. Dieser Drachen ereignet sich am 9.Mai 2006.

Hier ist ein Beispiel für zwei Drachen, die aus zwei Großen Trigonen besteht, die durch (i) Merkur, Venus, Neptun und Saturn und (ii) Merkur, Venus, Neptun und Uranus gebildet werden. Diese Drachen ereignen sich am 30.November 1941. Mit einem wenig größeren Orb von 8° für das Trigon gibt es ein drittes großes Trigon, das durch die Sonne, Mars und Pluto gebildet wird.




Das T-Quadrat

Ein T-Quadrat ereignet sich, wenn drei Planeten A, B und C so zueinander stehen, dass A in Opposition zu C ist und B sowohl zu A, als auch zu C, im Quadrat steht. Das Bild rechts zeigt das T-Quadrat am 11.September 2001, 09.00 EDT.

Eine Bildschirmkopie in der Einführung zeigt drei T-Quadrate, insbesondere das Saturn-Pluto-Uranus T-Quadrat (das, unter Verwendung eines Orbis von 10°, am 9. Februar 2010 begann und bis zum 4.Oktober 2010 andauern wird). Dieses T-Quadrat ist ein Teil von einem der Großen Kreuzes, das im Bild unten gezeigt wird.

T-Quadrate gelten traditionell als unheilsverkündend, aber sie können mehr positiv als herausfordernde Situationen angesehen werden, die es zu bewältigen gilt. Was das gerade erwähnte Saturn-Pluto-Uranus T-Quadrat betrifft, schauen Sie sich den Aufsatz Hard Labor and Rebirth in the Psyche — The Saturn-Uranus-Pluto T-Square von Renn Butler an.


Das große Kreuz

Ein großes Kreuz findet statt, wenn vier Planeten A,B,C und D so zueinander stehen, dass A in Opposition zu C ist und B in Opposition zu D ist, mit A im Quadrat zu B, B im Quadrat zu C, C im Quadrat zu D und D im Quadrat zu A. Das ist eine Ursache für Alarm.

Hier ist ein Bespiel für nicht nur ein, sondern vier große Kreuze (Su-Ju-Pl-Sa, Su-Sa-Pl-Ur, Me-Ju-Pl-Sa und Me-Sa-Pl-Ur), am 25.Juni 2010.


Das Yod

Two yod aspect patterns Das Yod ist eine Aspektfigur, die durch drei Planeten A, B und C bestimmt wird, so dass B mit A ein Quinkunx (150° Aspekt) bildet, während A und C eine Sextil (60° Aspekt) formieren.

Hier ist ein Beispiel für zwei Yods (Me-Sa-Ve und Ma-Su-Ur), die gleichzeitig am 24.April 1982 um 6:00 GMT stattgefunden haben.

Ten yods Hier sind zehn Yods, die alle gleichzeitig am 29.März 2013 stattfinden. Die große Anzahl von Yods liegt an der Konjunktion von Saturn, Mond und dem 4-Stellium, das durch die Sonne, die Venus, den Mars und den Uranus gebildet wird.


Der Yod-Drachen

yod kite at the time of the Deepwater Horizon blowout Ein Yod-Drachen ähnelt einem Drachen, aber statt drei Trigone plus ein vierter Planeten in Opposition zu einem von ihnen, ist ein Yod-Drachen ein Drachen mit einem vierten Planeten, der in Opposition zu dem Planeten im Scheitelpunkt des Quinkunx steht und ein Semisextil mit den anderen beiden Planeten bildet.

Hier ist ein Yod-Drachen (Su-Sa-Ne-Ur), der sich zum Zeitpunkt des "Deepwater Horizon" Ausbruchs ereignet hat (am 20.April 2010, 22.00 CDT).

yod kite at December 21, 2012 Rechts ist ein anderer Yod-Drachen (Sa-Ju-Pl-Ve), der am 21.Dezember 2012 stattfinden wird und der bis zum 25.Dezember andauert.

Yod-Drachen sind selten. Mittels dieser Software kann das Folgende leicht bestätigt werden: In den zwölf Jahren von 2007 bis 2018 findet man nur elf Yod-Drachen. In den Jahren 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014 und 2016 bis 2018 sind keine Yod-Drachen vorhanden. Im Jahr 2007 gab es nur einen Yod-Drachen (12.-14.Februar), im Jahr 2010 sind es sechs, 2012 wird drei Yod-Drachen haben und im Jahr 2015 wird es einen Yod-Drachen geben (19.-22.Mai). Sie dauern im Durchschnitt vier Tage. In diesen zwölf Jahren waren die Yod-Drachen vierzig Tage präsent. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sich während dieser Periode an einem bestimmten Datum ein Yod-Drachen ereignet, ist daher weniger als 1%.


Das Rechteck

Ein Rechteck (engl.: rectangle) ereignet sich, wenn sich vier Planeten A, B, C und D in folgende Weise formieren: A steht in Opposition zu C, B steht in Opposition zu D, A und B bilden ein Sextil, A und D ergeben ein Trigon, C und D bilden ein Sextil, und C mit A ergeben ein Trigon.

Hier ist ein Beispiel für ein Rechtecke, Su-Ma-Ne-Ju, was am 14.März 1965 stattgefunden hat. Mit wenig größeren Orben für Trigone und Sextile sind dort drei zusätzliche Rechtecke (Su-Pl-Ne-Ju, Ve-Ma-Ne-Ju und Ve-Pl-Ne-Ju).


Das Trapez

Ein Trapez setzt sich aus vier Planeten A, B, C und D zusammen mit folgenden Eigenschaften:

Eine sehr ungewöhnliche planetarische Anordnung trat vom 6.Februar 1945, bis zum 13.Februar auf: Zwei Trapeze (Me-Pl-Ur-Ve, Ve-Pl-Ne-Ur), zwei Drachen (Ne-Me-Ur-Ve, Me-Ur-Ne-Pl), ein T-Quadrat (Ve-Sa-Ne), ein großes Trigon (Me-Pl-Ur-Ve), und ein Rechteck (Me-Pl-Ne-Ve) — und alle äußeren Planeten waren retrograd und nur diese. Diese Anordnung stimmte fast genau mit der Jalta-Konferenz (eine Konferenz von Roosevelt, Churchill und Stalin) überein, die vom 4.Februar bis zum 11.Februar stattfand.

Wenn der Mond berücksichtigt wird, finden wir am 7.Februar 1945 eine planetare Anordnung, die noch ungewöhnlicher ist. Diese Anordnung beinhaltet ein sehr seltenes großes Sextil (Me-Ur-Ne-Ve-Pl-Mo).
Und am 9.Februar war der Mond Teil sowohl eines großen Kreuzes als auch eines Yod.


Das langes Trapez

Ein langes Trapez wird von vier Planeten gebildet, A,B,C und D, sodass

Das Bild rechts zeigt ein langes Trapez, das von Mond, Merkur, Uranus und Pluto erzeugt wird. Dieser Aspekt hat sich am 18.August 2012 um 14:00 GMT ereignet.


Der Diamant (oder Entartetes Pentragramm)

diamond aspect pattern, July 22, 2012 Da das Diamant Aspektmuster am 20.Juli 2012 stattfand, zur Zeit des Massenmords von James Holmes in Aurora, Colorado, könnte man das Muster besser als ein entartetes Pentragramm bezeichnen. Es besteht aus fünf Planeten. Es wird durch die Nebeneinanderstellung eines Trapezes und eines T-Quadrats, mit den Planeten des Trapezes gebildet, die im gegenüberliegenden Aspekt sind. Es sind dieselben Planeten wie die im T-Quadrat, plus zwei Quincunxe zwischen dem Planeten im Fokus des T-Quadrats und den zwei Planeten im Trapez, die nicht im T-Quadrat sind (also ein Yod). Dies wird illustriert durch das Diamantbild auf der rechten Seite (es schließt das Ma-Me-Ju-Ur-Trapez ein), das sich am 20.Juli 2012 um 00:30 Uhr ereignet hat, der Zeitpnkt des zuvor erwähnten Massenmord.

Diamant Aspektbilder sind selten. Ein nicht ganz perfektes Muster ereignet sich am 30.Juli 2013 (ein einzelenes Quincunx fehlt). Der nächste Diamant ereignet sich am 21.Juni 2017 (der Aspekt beginnt am 19.Juni um 6:00 GMT und endet am 21.Juni um 2:30 GMT)


Die Halbsumme

Eine Anordnung von drei Planeten nennen wir Halbsumme, wenn zwischen jeweils zwei der drei Planeten keine Konjunktion vorhanden ist und wenn sich einer der drei Planeten in einer spezifizierten Umgebung (dem Halbsummenorbis) des exakten Mittelpunkts der Entfernung zwischen den beiden anderen befindet. Tatsächlich gibt es zwei exakte Mittelpunkte (man nennt sie den nahen Mittelpunkt und den entfernten Mittelpunkt, der direkt gegenüber liegt). Der Planet in der Mitte kann entweder am nahen Mittelpunkt oder am entfernten Mittelpunkt sein.

Eine Halbsumme ist kein Aspekt, da mehr als zwei Planeten beteiligt sind und es ist auch kein Aspektbild, weil keine Planeten beteiligt sind, die einen Aspekt miteinander bilden (obwohl sie unter Umständen ein T-Quadrat bilden können). Trotzdem betrachten viele Astrologen Halbsummen als bedeutungsvoll.

Das Bild rechts zeigt drei Halbsummen, die sich am 7.Juni 2011 ereignen werden: Mars in der Mitte zwischen Merkur und Jupiter, Jupiter auf halbem Weg zwischen Venus und Uranus und Saturn in der Mitte zwischen Mars und Neptun.

Planetary Aspects and Transits: Benutzerhandbuch
Der Tropische und der Siderische Tierkreis
Home Page

Planetary Aspect Patterns

by
German version

The images of aspects on this page were all made
using either the Planetary Aspects and Transits software or
the Heliocentric Planetary Aspects and Transits software.


Planetary Aspects

Conjunction, Opposition, Square, Trine,
Sextile, Semisextile and Quincunx

Two planets form an aspect when their degree of separation (the absolute difference of their longitudes) is sufficiently close to one of the following: 0° (conjunction), 180° (opposition), 90° (square), 120° (trine), 60° (sextile), 30° (semisextile) or 150° (quincunx). Astrologers also recognize other aspects, not dealt with here, such as 45° (semi-square).

A certain inexactness is permitted, which is called the orb. Thus if an orb of 10° is used then two planets are conjunct if they are separated by less than 10°. They are opposite if their separation is less than 10° from 180°, they are square if their separation is less than 10° from 90°, they are trine if their separation is less than 10° from 120°, and so on. For example, if a certain planet's longitude is 35° then another planet will be square to it if the second planet's longitude is anything between 115° and 135°.

Planetary aspects, August 4, 2015Most astrologers study geocentric astrology, where the longitudes of the planets are measured from the point of view of the Earth. There is another kind of astrology, called heliocentric astrology, in which longitudes are measured from the point of view of the Sun. The aspects in the two kinds of astrology are the same. For example, a heliocentric chart is shown at right. Most of the charts below are geocentric (made with PAT), with a few heliocentric charts (made with HPAT).

The exactness of an aspect is expressed as the difference between the actual angle separating the planets and the ideal angle of separation for that aspect. For example, if Mercury has longitude 55° and Mars has longitude 57° then the exactness of that conjunction is 2°. If Venus has longitude 80° and Jupiter has longitude 195° then they form a trine aspect with an exactness of 5° (= 120°-(195°-80°)).

The sample screenshot given in the Introduction shows all the planetary aspects at June 9, 2010 (using the default values for the orbs) together with how close to exact those aspects are.

When three or more planets are such that each planet forms an aspect to each of the other planets then we have what is called an aspect pattern. An aspect pattern with three planets involves three aspects, an aspect pattern with four planets involves six aspects, and an aspect pattern with five planets involves ten aspects (these being very rare). The main aspect patterns are described below.

If we consider only non-zero aspects (that is, aspects other than conjunctions) and only aspects divisible by 30, then there are 12 possible 3-planet aspect patterns, 28 possible 4-planet aspect patterns, 35 possible 5-planet aspect patterns, and 35 possible 6-planet aspect patterns. The total number of such aspect patterns with 3-6 planets is thus 110. Only the more common ones have names, and some are probably so rare that they will never be seen.


Stelliums

4-stellium_2019-09-03 A 3-stellium occurs when three planets are all conjunct to each other. An n-stellium occurs when n planets are all conjunct to each other. 3-stelliums are fairly common (because Mercury remains close to the Sun), but it is rare for more than one 3-stellium to occur at one time. Here is an instance of three heliocentric 3-stelliums occurring simultaneously (along with eight T-squares). This takes place on October 25, 2020.

4-stellium_2019-09-03 Although 3-stelliums are fairly common, 4-stelliums are not. Here is an example of a 4-stellium, Sun-Mercury-Venus-Mars, which occurs on September 3, 2019. (There are also three grand trines and four T-squares present.)

4-stellium_2020-05-264-stelliums involving the outer planets are much rarer because they move more slowly than do the inner planets. Here is an example of a heliocentric 4-stellium, Mars-Jupiter-Saturn-Pluto, which lasts from May 21 through June 4, 2020, and is most exact on May 26, 2020.

5-stellium 1962-02-05 5-stelliums are rare, occurring perhaps once in a decade or two. Shown at right is a 5-stellium (Sun-Mercury-Venus-Jupiter-Moon) which occurred on Feburary 5, 1962. This 5-stellium is unusually tight; the average of the pairwise separations of the five planets reaches a minimum of just 1°21'. 5-stelliums also occur on May 9, 2000, and on September 8, 2040. In these two cases the minimum separation is between 4° and 5°.

Stelliums are less common in heliocentric planetary configurations because the Moon is not included. If, however, we allow an orb of 12° for conjunction then the heliocentric 5-stellium shown at right (Me-Ve-Ma-Ur-Ne, with Earth opposite all five) occurred on January 6, 1994.

6-stellium 1997-02-06 6-stelliums are very rare. Shown at right is a 6-stellium (Mercury-Venus-Jupiter-Uranus-Neptune-Moon) which occurred on February 6, 1997. At 17:30 GMT all six celestial objects were separated by 8°58' or less. There are also four trapeziums present.

7-stellium 1994-01-11 7-stelliums are extremely rare. Shown at right is a 7-stellium (Sun-Mercury-Venus-Mars-Uranus-Neptune-Moon) which occurred on January 11, 1994. At 16:00 GMT all seven celestial objects were separated by 8°50' or less.


Grand Trine

A grand trine occurs when three planets are such that each pair of planets forms a trine aspect. This is considered auspicious.

Here is an instance of two grand trines (Venus-Saturn-Pluto and Mars-Jupiter-Uranus) which occured on September 22, 1904.

Grand trine Jupiter Saturn Uranus 2047 A very rare instance of a heliocentric grand trine involving Jupiter, Saturn and Uranus is shown at right. This planetary configuration (which occurs on June 4, 2047) also includes (with Venus) a kite.

.


Grand Sextile

A grand sextile occurs when there are six planets, each of which is sextile to exactly two others, and these six planets also form two grand trines such that each planet in one grand trine is opposite to some planet in the other grand trine.

Grand sextiles are very rare. Here is one, formed by Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Pluto, Neptune and the Moon, which occurs on July 29, 2013. Another one is shown below.

Grand sextile 1621-10-10Grand sextiles, like all aspect patterns, can also occur in heliocentric planetary configurations. An example is shown at right, formed by the Earth, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Neptune. This occurred on October 10, 1621.


Kite

A kite occurs when three planets form a grand trine and a fourth planet is opposite to one of them and is sextile to the other two.

Here is an instance of a kite consisting of a grand trine formed by Mars, Jupiter and Uranus, with the Sun opposite Jupiter and Jupiter sextile to Mars and Uranus. This kite occured on May 9, 2006.

Here is an instance of two kites (and thus two grand trines) formed by (i) Mercury, Venus, Neptune and Saturn and (ii) Mercury, Venus, Neptune and Uranus. This occurred on November 30, 1941. With a slightly larger orb of 8° for trines there is a third grand trine formed by the Sun, Mars and Pluto.

An extremely rare configuration is a kite formed by four of the slower-moving planets beyond Mars. Here is an instance of such a kite (formed by Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Pluto), which lasted from November 13, 1690, through January 8, 1691 (becoming most exact on December 24, 1690):

Here is an instance of a heliocentric kite consisting of a grand trine formed by Earth, Jupiter and Saturn, with Mars opposite the Earth sextile to Jupiter and Saturn. (There are also two conjunctions: Me-ve and Ur-Ne.) This kite occured on December 22, 1993.

Here is an instance of four heliocentric kites and two trapeziums. This alignment occured on February 10, 2007.


T-square

A T-square occurs when three planets A, B and C are such that A is opposite to C and B is square to both A and C. The image at right shows the T-square at 09:00 EDT on September 11, 2001.

screenshot in the Introduction shows three T-squares, in particular the Saturn-Pluto-Uranus T-square (which, using an orb of 10°, began on February 9, 2010, and will last until October 4, 2010). This T-square is part of one of the grand crosses shown in the image below.

T-squares are traditionally considered inauspicious, but may be regarded more positively as indicating a challenging situation to be overcome. (Regarding the Saturn-Pluto-Uranus T-square just mentioned, see Renn Butler's Hard Labor and Rebirth in the Psyche — The Saturn-Uranus-Pluto T-Square.)


Grand Cross

A grand cross occurs when four planets, A, B, C and D are such that A is opposite C, B is opposite D, A is square to B, B is square to C, C is square to D and D is square to A. This is cause for alarm.

Here is an instance of not just one but four grand crosses (Su-Ju-Pl-Sa, Su-Sa-Pl-Ur, Me-Ju-Pl-Sa and Me-Sa-Pl-Ur), which occured on June 25, 2010.

Here is an instance of two heliocentric grand crosses (Ea-Ve-Pl-Ur and Me-Ju-Sa-Ne ) which occurs on January 7, 2016.


Unnamed

July 5, 2015, heliocentric As noted above, there are 28 possible aspect patterns involving 4 planets (considering only aspects divisible by 30). Most of them have no names. Here is one of them, a heliocentric planetary configuration which occurred on July 5, 2015, the day of the Greek referendum. It is composed of a T-square, a trine, a sextile and a quincunx. It can also be seen as somewhat like a grand cross but with a T-square juxtaposed, not to another T-square, but rather to a trine-sextile-opposition triangle. At that time Venus was exactly trine to Uranus, and Pluto was 1° conjunct to the Earth.


Yod

Two yod aspect patterns A yod is an aspect pattern formed by three planets, A, B and C, where B forms quincunxes (150° aspect) with A and C, and A and C are sextile (60° aspect).

Here is an example of two yods (Me-Sa-Ve and Ma-Su-Ur) occurring simultaneously on April 24, 1982.

Ten yodsHere are ten yods occurring simultaneously, on March 29, 2013. The large number of yods is due to the conjunction of Saturn and the Moon, and the 4-stellium formed by the Sun, Venus, Mars and Uranus.


Yod Kite

yod kite at the time of the Deepwater Horizon blowout A yod kite is similar to a kite, but instead of three trines plus a fourth planet opposite to one of them, a yod kite is a yod with a fourth planet opposite to the planet at the vertex of the quincunxes and semisextile to the other two.

Here is a yod kite (Su-Sa-Ne-Ur) which occurred at the time of the Deepwater Horizon blowout (22:00 CDT on April 20, 2010).

yod kite at December 21, 2012 At right is another yod kite (Sa-Ju-Pl-Ve) which begins at midnight GMT on December 20/21, 2012, and lasts until December 25.

Yod kites are unusual. By means of this software the following can easily be confirmed: During the twelve years 2007 through 2018 there are only eleven yod kites. There are none in the years 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2016 through 2018. In 2007 there was one yod kite (February 12-14), in 2010 there are six, in 2012 there will be three (all in December), and in 2015 there will be one (May 19-22). They last on average four days. In these twelve years yod kites were present on forty days, so during this period the probability of a yod kite being present on a given date is less than 1%.

Yod kite 2016-04-30 Here is a heliocentric yod kite (Ma-Ur-Ju-Me) which occurs on April 30, 2016:


Rectangle

Rectangle May 1 2017 A rectangle (a.k.a. a mystic rectangle) occurs when four planets A, B, C and D are such that A is opposite to C, B is opposite to D, A is sextile to B and trine to D, and C is sextile to D and trine to A.

Here is an instance of a heliocentric rectangle, Ma-Sa-Ju-Ur, which occurs on May 1, 2017.

Here is an instance of a geocentric rectangle, Su-Ma-Ne-Ju, which occurred on March 14, 1965. With slightly larger orbs for trines and sextiles there are three additional rectangles (Su-Pl-Ne-Ju, Ve-Ma-Ne-Ju and Ve-Pl-Ne-Ju).


Trapezium (Opposition Base)

There are at least three kinds of trapezium, each with four planets and six aspects.

A trapezium (opposition base) is composed of four planets, A, B, C and D, with

A very unusual planetary arrangement occurred from February 6, 1945, through February 13: Two such trapeziums (Me-Pl-Ur-Ve, Ve-Pl-Ne-Ur), two kites (Ne-Me-Ur-Ve, Me-Ur-Ne-Pl), a T-square (Ve-Sa-Ne), a grand trine (Me-Pl-Ur-Ve) and a rectangle (Me-Pl-Ne-Ve), with all and only the outer planets retrograde. This arrangement coincided almost exactly with the Yalta Conference (a meeting of Roosevelt, Churchill and Stalin), which took place from February 4 through February 11.

When the Moon is included we find that on February 7, 1945, there was an even more unusual planetary arrangement, which included a very rare grand sextile (Me-Ur-Ne-Ve-Pl-Mo).

And on February 9 the Moon was part of both a grand cross and a yod.


Trapezium (Square Base)

A trapezium (square base) is composed of four planets, A, B, C and D, with

The image at right shows such a trapezium formed by the Moon, Mercury, Uranus and Pluto. This occurred at 14:00 GMT on August 18, 2012.


Trapezium (Quincunx Base)

A trapezium (quincunx base) is composed of four planets, A, B, C and D, with

Such a pattern has been found in a heliocentric planetary configuration (shown at right), but not so far in a geocentric one.


Diamond (or Distorted Pentagram)

diamond aspect pattern, July 22, 2012 Since the diamond aspect pattern was present on July 20, 2012, at the time of the mass murder by James Holmes in Aurora, Colorado, it might better be named a distorted pentagram. It consists of five planets. It is formed by the juxtaposition of a trapezium and a T-square, with the planets of the trapezium that are in opposite aspect being the same as those in the T-square, plus two quincunxes, between the planet at the focus of the T-square and the two planets in the trapezium which are not in the T-square (thus forming a yod). This is illustrated in the diamond shown at right (which includes the Ma-Me-Ju-Ur trapezium), which occurred at 00:30 on July 20, 2012, the time of the aforementioned mass murder.

Diamond aspect patterns are rare. A not-quite-perfect diamond occurs on July 30, 2013 (a single quincunx is missing). The next diamond occurs around June 21, 2017 (it begins at 06:00 GMT on June 19 and ends at 02:30 GMT on June 21).


Midpoint

An arrangement of three planets is called a midpoint if no two of them are conjunct and the position of one of them is within a specified range (the midpoint orb) of the exact midpoint beween the other two. There are actually two exact midpoints (called the near midpoint and the directly opposite far midpoint), and the intermediate planet can be located at either of them.

A midpoint is not an aspect because it involves more than two planets, and it is not an aspect pattern because the planets involved do not have to form aspects with each other (though they may, e.g., in a T-square). Nevertheless a midpoint is considered significant by many astrologers.

The image at right shows three midpoints which will occur on June 7, 2011: Mars midway between Mercury and Jupiter, Jupiter midway between Venus and Uranus, and Saturn midway between Mars and Neptune.

Planetary Aspects and Transits: User Manual
Tropical and Sidereal Zodiacs
Home Page